Raspberry Pi Control Garage Door

Several months ago our Craftsman garage door openers stopped responding to our remotes. I tried everything I could think of to fix this problem, short of buying anything new. Garage door opener parts are expensive, to the point buying new openers is a better option.

After much research I found out that RF interference was the issue. No new remote or logic board was going to solve the issue, even getting new openers wouldn’t solve the issue.

By knowing the wall switch which, still worked, simply closes the circuit I set out for a wireless solution. I wanted to try my hand at an Arduino, but getting WiFi to one isn’t cheap. I then discovered the Raspberry Pi had programmable pins. Getting wireless to the Pi was nearly $80 cheaper. I soon placed an order on Amazon for all my parts.

After getting the parts in I wrote a quick node.js app that serves a single page and also has a 2 backend requests to open each garage. I also quickly wrote an iOS app as well. I’m using Forever to make sure the app stays up.

The only issue I came across was that the relay I bought turned on when firing low, and off when high. The Raspberry Pi has a default state of low, but the GPIO pins are set to input mode so the relay doesn’t immediately fire until the pin is set for output.

As far as wiring goes, I have 2 sets of door switches. The regular wall switches that came with the openers which are right next to each other, then a separate set of switches wired in another part of the garage. I went to Lowes and got some Alarm Wire (it has 4 wires inside of it), this made me only have to make one run from the Pi. I just connected my wires to the back of the wall switches using the COM and NO ports from the relays.

I have open sources the node.js app at brentnycum/garage-node. I have also open sourced the iOS app at brentnycum/garage-ios. There isn’t much to learn from these projects except using node.js and the GPIO pins on a Raspberry Pi. You can find a picture of the built product from my tweet.

A picture of the device put together can be found in my tweet.

Originally from: http://itsbrent.net/2013/03/hacking-my-garage-with-a-raspberry-pi/

Leave a Reply

